Being productive, and why it isn’t exactly fun.

I just hit ctrl+s for the last time on my Literature in History essay. I couldn’t help myself, though. Before opening a tab to email the doc off to myself for printing in the school library, I had to open my three obligatory tabs: Facebook, Myspace, and The Superficial (guilty pleasure). Unfortunately, nothing new had happened on any of the three sites since I’d last visited.

Granted, my last visit was probably, oh, ten minutes ago…but still. A new pointless update on celebrity lifestyle, or maybe a wallpost or two would have topped off my finished essay just enough to make it worth checking. Oh dear…potential sundae-metaphor has me craving a Snooks black and tan, and not for the first time this week. Mid-essay, around three last night, Sam and I commiserated the lack of burgers and fries in the flat. Definitely going to fix that today.

Which brings me to the point of today! Being productive. That’s the point of today, and yesterday, and it’s a little too much for my liking. Maybe I’d be of a different opinion had I gotten more than an hour and a half of sleep Saturday night (thank you random group decision to basically pull an all-nighter the night before I have work at nine) and not left my 1500-word coney-catching Literature in History essay untouched until nearly twelve hours before it was due, but hey, that’s what I did. So the latter bad decision resulted in a second nearly all-nighter, which compounded the former bad decision. Toss in the fact that my MUST do laundry date has just fallen on today, and that I desperately need groceries, and there you have it! Whether I like it or not, Monday, November 10th, will be a very productive day in my life.

And I’m not the only one being productive around here. If you think about it for a second, you’ll realize that Thanksgiving is probably not on the English to-do list (though that doesn’t stop the baked-potato shop [no joke] next to my pasty shop from having a “Thanksgiving!” three-for-two 99p deal on garlic bread [???]). Yeah, it’s kinda weird, but I never really was a fan of turkey. In fact, I wouldn’t be surprised if the pseudo-Thanksgiving that Maggie and I come up with for the flat was primarily comprised of just pies. Anyway! When there’s no Thanksgiving, no Macy’s day parade, no requirement for fall decoration past October 31st – do you know what that means? That means that BAM! First day I came into work in November, there was garland and there were Christmas trees and there was fake snow and ornaments strewn where-have-you throughout the entire mall. For the whole of November! That completely boggles my mind!

And as if that were not bogglatory enough, there is the RIDICULOUS amount of shopping that said decorations immediately triggers within the British shopping population. Seriously. I thought there was some sort of economic crisis? But nope. People can still afford to buy so many bags of stuff that it’s impossible to not jab people with while walking past (and not apologizing for doing so, as they just don’t do it here) and then they waltz on into my work and drop £15 on pasties and paninis and toasties. It’s ridiculous!

But it also means I get more hours, and thus more money (though apparently less sleep), so hey, I’m not complaining. Well, I am, but only for the sake of cultural observance and surprise at the monetary science (or lack thereof) of it all.

Oh, and can I just say how vastly unfair it is that I can just pop off 600 words for this blog in twenty minutes but I struggled bitterly for an hour over the last measly 200 words of my essay? Life, you are unfair. Even for a lit major. Who wishes she could just be a creative writing major. Even though that makes it sound like she has no desire to learn about the amazing writing of those before her and just wants to get on with creating some amazing writing of her own.

Okay, time to print. Really now. Time to go off and be productive!

0 Responses to “Being productive, and why it isn’t exactly fun.”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

trans-tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

photo cred to myself and Maggie J. Moxie

