Being a Pseudo-Adult

Here’s the thing: if I were really intent on being adult about things, I’d get going on the two 1500 word papers I have due on Thursday, and the 1800 word short story I have due next Monday. Instead though, I do things like go to symphony concerts in six-hundred-year-old buildings with Maggie McBride in an attempt to feel cultured amidst all this youthful procrastination. To be fair, it was Beethoven’s 9th. And you can’t turn down a live performance of Beethoven’s 9th. Besides the obvious choral ridiculousness that is the finale, there is my favorite movement, listenable here because I’m awesome:

Mmm. I fucking love that movement. It’s kind of amazing. DUDE. As were the dresses that the two female soloist opera singers wore tonight. AMAZING!

As Maggie and I made our way to the bus stop, we started arguing about something or other. Pretty sure it had something to do with me having bad timing, but that’s irrelvent.  The important thing is that the two drunk English guys about twenty feet behind us heard her echoing statement of, “That’s TOTALLY unrelated!” No sooner had she said that than the two guys burst out laughing, then recited a nasal, “TOTALLLLLY”. Aaaaaand Maggie and I about lost it. It was SO funny. Then the two guys start talking with us a bit, and chastise Maggie for wearing (very awesome pink) wellies, despite the non-wellie weather (actually, it would seem that even in wellie weather, nobody really wears them over here, but that’s besides the point). Basically this utter randomness that was Maggie and I exuding foreignosity ended with the guys inviting us out for a beer, and us politely declining and finding a different way to get to the bus stop. Pretty much it was a hilariously not classy end to a classy evening.

A week from today I will be stress free and hopefully asleep, STOKED BEYOND STOKED by the fact that in twenty-four hours I WILL BE HOME! How excited I am for that moment – or for that matter, any moment beyond 3:00 PM Thursday – is inexpressible. For serious.

And speaking of inexpressible? How about my desire to write those papers. Just seeing the words “word count” beneath this post as I type makes me want to vom. Violently. FAIL.

But to counterract that fail we have most everything else in life right now, so I guess I’ll survive. And if you don’t believe that most everything else in life statement, just take a look at the below photos of St. Andrews Hall, and imagine how fucking amazing it would be to hear Beethoven’s 9th live there.

Oh, and one more thing that was great about tonight? Seeing the little old English lady totally hand the bus driver his ass for misleading her regarding the bus route. “No thanks to you, I’ll be missing my carriage, sir! THANK YOU, indeed!”

Win, win, and win.

0 Responses to “Being a Pseudo-Adult”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

trans-tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

photo cred to myself and Maggie J. Moxie

