Transatlantic Interlude.

Everyone’s starting to leave for Christmas break, and as logic would have it, the halls are slowly emptying. There’s nothing sadder than walking down an empty hall.

The bright side? Home, and every incredibly amazing person, place, and Angus that includes, on Monday. Three days.

The down side? The part of my life as I’ve known it for the past three months is basically done. Don’t get me wrong, I’m coming back here in January – you couldn’t keep me away if you tried. But certain indescribabley special people won’t be living here when we all start trickling back, and that will be very sad, and it will take some getting used to. Next term will still be amazing, but it will be yet another different amazing. So we’ll see who moves in down the hall and how ridiculous they’ll think we all are.

Anyway. I’ll leave you with a story of my near failing before I put this wordpressage on hold for a month.

I’m a procrastinator, as it happens. I’m pretty pro at it. Avani and I decided to start our Reading Texts and Lit in History essays, each 1500 words, at the library at 9.30 PM. On Wednesday night. When they’re due at 12.00 PM on Thursday.

We work, we work, we work…and finish, oh, at 8.00 AM the next morning. I then go to turn in my paper, but then find out that the school office doesn’t open until 8.30. So, the intelligent thing to do would be go sit it out for half an hour and then just turn it in, right? Well, I decided to troop back to my flat and just hang out for a bit.

Didn’t really plan on passing out on my bed before setting a safety alarm.

I’m laying in bed, and the wall-penetratingly loud noise that is Sharaz’s conversational voice wakes me up. Curtains are drawn. So I grab my phone to check the time…and it’s 11.53.

I jump up, grab essay, throw on shoes, and RUN. I never encountered such a thing at UCSB, but here, you have to timestamp all the papers you turn in at the school office. So basically, I’m screwed.

I run into the building, take the stairs two at a time, shove through the office, grab a cover sheet, and jam it into the timestamp machine.

Pull it out, and take a look.

And a close-up, with the contrast upped so you can definitely see my epicness:

Yeah. Basically, I’m pro. And really, really lucky that Sharaz talks so fucking loud.

Anyway, that was the end to my academic stress of the term. I am ready to say goodbye to those sorts of worries for the next four weeks, and to just enjoy being home.

Home. I am SO excited. That’s all I have to say. I am so, so, SO excited.

So that’s it till January. Yay for Chrimbo break, and for home, and for everything else amazing in life. Thanks for reading!

Kathy King xxx

0 Responses to “Transatlantic Interlude.”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

trans-tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

photo cred to myself and Maggie J. Moxie

