21 hours of sleep.

The first time I flew over here back in September,  I took a 3:25 flight out of SFO on a Friday afternoon. When I arrived in Norwich at 5:00 the next evening I was a little disoriented, but I don’t remember any sort of undue jetlag.

What I certainly don’t remember is spending the next 21 hours asleep, which is what happened after I arrived yesterday afternoon. I didn’t even know that you could sleep 21 hours straight. Maybe you’d get through about 10 hours, wake up, and consciously decide to waste more time sleeping, but seriously…I went to “take a nap” last night at 5:00 and I didn’t wake up till 2:15 this afternoon. That’s 21 hours of solid sleep.

Anyway. I’ve had my share of sleep for the day, and I’ve officially decided that all that sleep was a combination of jetlag and my undue amount of left-over stress from break. The loan check, which I did a fantastic job of forgetting to bring to the states with me when I left December 15th, arrived at my house today, go figure, the morning after I leave (thank you, Laura favorite-person Wells for sending it my way in the first place! =]). So that’s that much I don’t have to worry about, and I have another day of peace till classes (and work, most likely) kick in on Monday.

That day of peace includes much catching up with all of the great people I’ve spent the last month missing – all of my flatmates, who have by now mostly trickled back into halls. All we’re missing at the moment are Zach and Sharaz – that’s not counting Maggie and Prue, the former of which, as a study abroad-er, will not be returning this term (FAIL), and the latter of which will arrive WEDNESDAY!!! for her wondrous class-less stay in D5. Dinner sign-ups are already posted on the fridge, we’ve already met the two awesome new flatmates, and as far as I know, we already have plans to go out this evening. So pretty much, round two has begun!

Oh, and because apparently no round two would be complete without one, I’ve managed to bring my flute back over with me [?!]. Yeah, you’re probably wondering how big (and over-stuffed) my suitcase must have been for my flute to be in it without me even knowing…but somehow, my suitcase is big enough, and it happened. This would be even more funny if I hadn’t spent an hour with my sister Kelly trying to unpack my 70 lb suitcase down to a fine-less 50 lbs yesterday morning (or would that be Thursday morning…?), and in the process of “Well, I guess I don’t need this shirt…” left 20 lbs of fluteless, awesome clothing on the floor of my room in California.

So yeah. That’s two equal portions of funny and fail. I guess, as my mom said, now I have my flute around, “should the mood ever take me”.

And for all of you who just went American Pie on me, I think she meant something along the lines of joining the orchestra.

Random! On the plane flight over, I had the glorious advantage of a personal TV on which to watch any of fifty or so provided movies.  About six hours into the flight, I happened on Vicky Cristina Barcelona – a Woody Allen film that, much to my surprise, I actually enjoyed! I saw Match Point with Sammi a few summers ago and after that one wasn’t much of a Woody Allen fan. VCB was much more fun, and made me want to go to Spain. Which, now that I’m in the UK again, is that much closer to a possibility!

Oh my gosh, being here…it is so amazing to FINALLY not be stressed about anything!

And on that thought, it’s time to revel.

0 Responses to “21 hours of sleep.”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

trans-tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

photo cred to myself and Maggie J. Moxie

